Something About Her, Chapter 2

In fact, to be frank and fair,
It can be a little bit scary.
It’s getting worse,
The fear; it’s getting worse,
Year on year.
Time was, when I was young,
Wide eyed
And impressed, the fear
Didn’t frighten me
Much at all.

—David Windle

 

It took 16 hours, 4 days and numerous attempts for Vinod to convince himself of the reality. She hadn’t yet told him of their love affair. His cheating and for whatever it is worth, he hadn’t asked her. There were so many thoughts and so many unanswered questions. He was honestly just scared to ask them, give words to those thoughts. Like a beautiful aroma wafting from the dark deep woods which he couldn’t or rather didn’t want to decipher.

‘I can see you are taking it too well…I don’t know if its the age or you are not able to process the information.’ She said, trying very hard to resist the urge to smoke.

He sat down next to her, folded hands, eyes looking directly at her. It always made her nervous. ‘So, you are saying, you travelled back in time to a point seven years ago, and have waited since then till date to come see me?’

‘More or less… well, I thought if I were to do this, might set a few things straight in life, and work hard enough to get into IIT Madras this time.’ She smirked.

He didn’t look amused. It couldn’t be a joke, he couldn’t discuss it with supriya, he couldn’t tell her that he had been secretly meeting a girl who claimed to have come from the future. The knowledge she had about his life was so uncanny. She knew where he was born, his school friends, all his school shenanighans, college friends…even Josephine. Not one person knew about everything she had said. She would have to literally meet all his friends who ever existed to gather all that information. Unless, of course he was the one who told her.

‘Let’s assume for a minute, you are right. Why are you here? Why do you want to meet me?’ Vinod asked, exasparrated.

‘I am here to ask you for a favor. Something that might not make sense at all.’She replied.

‘Don’t be cryptic! I have had enough of your puzzles and word games’. Vinod blasted.

‘Fine. I’ll be straight with you. 10 years from now, when you meet me, and you will know it, trust me. When you meet me,’it seemed she was choking on her own words, because she couldn’t come up with any. She continued, ‘When you meet me, don’t talk to me. Ignore my mails, whatever urge you have, whatever binding force you feel. Whatever you feel.’

Leave a Reply

